Nerd wannabe

lazy weblog

gtkaml 0.1 released!

with 3 comments

Well, actually gtkaml 0.1.0.1…

I had problems with autotools.. my examples installed in the /usr/bin directory – which was uncool.

And the googlecode decided that no release should be deleted – so I bumped the version up and released once again..

Anyway, in case you don’t know, gtkaml is an XML preprocessor that transforms all your container/widget descriptions into Vala. I proposed myself to build this project some time ago.

And now it’s done! Next thing I know, I’ll be that proficient in GTK that I will event start my own Norton-Commander clone in gtkaml + vala!

So here it is, the announce: giocommander will be a NortonCommander clone written in GTK with the new GIO api that’s bundled in GLIB.

The Linux version will be featureful, if you have GVFS installed, and the Windows version will be “O.K”

You know why? Because it’s simpler to develop a software that’s featureful in Linux and crippled in Windows:-P

And if you add enough features, you might end up installing Linux just to get them! (What, you never installed Windows just to get Photoshop or Autocad? Why not the other way?!?)

Ok, jokes aside, let’s get back to the drawing board..

Written by vlad

February 3, 2008 at 8:55 pm

Posted in gtkaml, ideas

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really like your ideas, but why the hell spend time on windows anyway ;)?

    mike

    February 4, 2008 at 3:07 pm

  2. Thanks:)
    Well that’s because 60% of time I’m spending at work, in windows – and this is how I came to appreciate gtk software that doesn’t depend on much but gtk itself;)

    vlad

    February 4, 2008 at 3:14 pm

  3. Your method of telling the whole thing in this article is truly nice, all be capable
    of simply be aware of it, Thanks a lot.

    visit website

    December 27, 2012 at 1:26 am


Leave a Reply

