Nerd wannabe

lazy weblog

sonyericsson t230 modem

with one comment

The day I bought the RS232 cable for this modem I could only make it work at 9600 baud.
Googling for it I found entire forum threads that confirmed this.

It seems to that this is not true.

Here’s what you have to do (remember, for RS232 DRS-11 T230 cable). These are the steps for a Win2k, but should not differ for other Windows, or even for any OS.

– Enable COM1 in your PC’s BIOS Setup (most computers come with this enabled, but it uses up IRQ space, in case you might need it). Of course, COM2 works as well, if you have a mouse on COM1. If there is no “Auto” option, use ports 0x3f7-0x3ff, irq 4.

– Install the T200 modem drivers from here (nevermind if the link doesn’t work anymore or if the official Sony Ericsson site doesn’t provide them: I am not sure this is a necessary part, at most it is recommanded, but it should be working with Standard Modem 36k). The modem is to be installed on COM1, of course, in this example.
(Later edit: for Linux, see this post)

– Set the COM1 baud rate to 115k from Device Manager

– Fill in the extra initialization string(?) in the Advanced tab of modem’s properties (from Device Manager, too)

– Create, from My Network Places/Properties a new DialUp Connection with dialing number *99***1# (and “dialing rules” disabled)

* Launch the connection from the newly created desktop icon

* Clear the username string

* Click Properties, and Configure for the modem. Select: maximum speed: 115200bps, Modem protocol: “V.110 (28.8k,GSM)” (??).

* Depending on the type files you’re downloading, you may enable flow/error/compression. Usually, compression is recommended for surfing, compressing at the physical layer what sites are too lazy to compress at the application layer (http, smtp are veeery sparse formats). If you’re merely downloading binary data (installation kits, compressed files) it may be possible that modem compression would slow things down.

– Now you may finally pres the “Dial” button. The last options filled in are saved for the connection.

I managed to achieve an average of 3-4kB/s, from where I can draw the conclusion that the modem may be faster than 28.8k.

Anyway… I am not able to tell what allowed me to set all the bauds greater than 9600: the T200 modem driver, the modem protocol setting.. ?
But if you ever want to compare the settings with me, drop me a line.


I am not in any way affiliated with the phone’s producer, the service provider nor have I any technical knowledge about mobile communication.
I am just happy. (Imagine me digging for this info with 960 bytes/second… disabled images ugh.. etc.)

Later edit (2004-03-21): I contacted SonyErricsson to and asked them “[…] if there is possible to obtain more communication speed between phone and computer [than 9600kbps], given that I understand that GPRS can reach 53kbauds”. (Actually GPRS 1 is approx 72kbps).
The answer: “[…] we would like to inform you that the Sony Ericsson T230 mobile phone does not support the modem function.”
No further questions..

? The initialization string is something like this, with my provider:at+cgdcont=1,"ip","internet","",0,0 where:
* modem commands begin with AT: for example, = ‘ATDPxxx’ means ‘D’ial in ‘P’ulse no. ‘xxx’, for regular RJ-45 modems
* cdgcont=1 means connection id (*cid*) 1 (see Data Connections on the phone)
“internet” = Access Point Name
“” = ip address. in this case is automatic

Although this seems to select you connection by “cid”, i only managed to connect with cdgcont=1. I even deleted all the connections configured from the phone: the init string created one with just the settings provided.

?? Note: On my computer I have the following 5 options for Modem Protocol: “V.110 (9.6k,GSM)”, “V.110 (14.4k,GSM)”, “V.110 (19.2k,GSM)”, “V.110 (28.8k,GSM)” and “Analog RLP”. The second-to-last sounded ‘better’

Written by vlad

March 18, 2005 at 10:05 pm

Posted in trivia

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. what??? so i cannot open my gprs.. oh my god..

    christie

    March 8, 2011 at 7:56 am


Leave a Reply

